Home » Crafts/DIY » DIY bench cushion (no sewing)

DIY bench cushion (no sewing)

IMG_2135     

      Recently my friend hired me to help organize her home.  After looking at several expensive customized options, we decided to get several Expedit shelves from IKEA.  It does a great got of holding all her things but it just didn’t have that customized feel that I wanted.  Brainstorm! I decided to make a cushion to give it a more finished look 😀

    

 To make your own no-sew cushion, you will need to get your materials:

  • Fabric of your choice
    -I went with a heavy duty upholstery fabric
  • Batting
  • Foam
    -I decided on the 3″ foam so that it is very comfy for sitting on (& is going to a home with a 2 year old!)
  • A piece of support wood for the base (very thin wood is fine unless it is being used as support)
    -The wood will need to be cut to the size of your bench.  If you don’t have a saw, the store where you buy the wood will cut it for you for free!
  • Staple gun & staples
  • Scissors, knife or electric cutting knife

IMG_2113

  Step 1

Gather your materials.

IMG_2115

 

Step 2

Place your board on top of your foam.

Trace the desired shape onto your foam.

IMG_2119

 

Step 3

Cut the foam to the right size
(This would have been so much easier to do with an electric knife)

IMG_2121

 

 

Step 4 (optional)

Glue the foam to the board

I decided to glue my foam so that the layers would not move around as I was trying to get measurements for my fabric & batting.

IMG_2127

Step 5

Measure & cut the batting

This layer is important to prevent the piece of wood from poking holes in the fabric.  I found it was easiest to put the board onto the batting, then measure my desired width.

Baby W is doing a great job of supervising!

 

Step 6 (Sorry no picture!)

Use staple gun to staple batting to the board

You must have the foam between the batting and the board for the layers to turn out correctly!
I found it was easiest to start at the shorter ends, then tuck corners.  Wrap corners like you would a corner and staple in place before moving on to the long sides.

IMG_2124

 

Step 7

Measure & cut fabric

(I ironed my fabric before measuring & after cutting to ensure that I would not have odd wrinkles and gaps in the fabric when it was stapled)

 

IMG_2129

Step 8

Lay fabric down (wrong side up), then lay board (batting side down) onto the fabric

Use staple gun to attach fabric

(Again, I attached the shorter side first, wrap the corners, then move on to the longer sides)

IMG_2132

 

Here’s a close up of the corners

(I found it worked best to staple the first edge to the board
before moving on to the second edge)

Leave a Reply

