Home » Crafts/DIY » DIY Handstitched Monogram Towels

DIY Handstitched Monogram Towels

2011-12-25 11.17.51       With the holidays right around the corner, you might be looking for something to spruce up your kitchen or an inexpensive gift for someone you know.  These handmade beauties rival their expensive counterparts but cost me less than $10 a piece!

      You will need:

  • A hand towel (or pair of towels) from a store of your choice
    -Mine came as a pair from Target
  • Embroidery floss in the color of your choice
  • Accent color embroidery floss
  • Computer letter/font printed out for a template
  • Embroidery needle
  • Embroidery hoop (if you have one)

As with all sewing projects, I suggest pre-washing all fabrics before beginning a sewing project.  After washing my hand towels, I traced the letter I was using for the monogram on each towel.  (I found that I needed to use a ballpoint pen to trace the lines as my fabric pencils wasn’t visible on the towel.

I then fastened my embroidery hoop around the area I was going to be working on.  If you do not have an embroidery hoop this isn’t necessary; just a helpful tool. (You can see how the embroidery hoop held the towel in place in the second photo)  2011-12-21 18.50.45

Using the main embroidery floss color, thread your needle.  Sew around the outline of the letter you are trying to fill.  Using the accent color floss, stitch just inside the outline to create a border.  Switching back to the main color, begin stitching in a back and forth method until you fill in the letter.

Once the letter has been filled in, use your accent color to add bits of decoration as you see fit.  You can add swirls, copy the font you used as a guide, or add lines to embellish your monogram!

Linked up 11/15/2013

Leave a comment